top of page

Eagle swim teams finish second at state

Updated: Mar 3, 2022

By Ella Lucero

The 2021-22 Swim season has come to an end in February with the NMAA Boys and Girls State Championships. Eldorado finished strong with a placement of second, overall. Hannah O’Connell, Makaela Perea, and Nolan Arnholt all placed first in their event, with several others placing 2nd.

“Going in, I didn’t think we were going to win [against] Los Alamos,” sophomore Nolan said.

The boys team was second only to Los Alamos, while the girls team defeated Los Alamos and was defeated by the Albuquerque Academy.

“We were really supportive of each other. We scored really well,” sophomore Makaela said about her team’s performance.

Nolan won first place in the boys 100 Freestyle event.

“It’s pretty exciting. After all the training I did, it feels nice to pay off,” said Nolan regarding his first individual event win.

Nolan placed second in the Boys 200 Freestyle event.

“It was a close race. [I] could have done a little better, but I’m happy with it,” said Nolan.

Makaela placed first in the Girls 100 Backstroke race.

“It feels pretty good. Two years in a row, and I’m only a sophomore. I was for sure hoping to [win], I went into it pretty confident. That’s what I’ve been working towards,” said defending champion Makaela.

Makaela has goals to continue her swimming career in high school.

“Next year I want to win again, same with senior year. I’m hoping to win my other event, too. I got pretty close this year.”



bottom of page